Posted by: emitsorgroup | September 14, 2011

Windows 8 Developer Preview – Install in VirtualBox

Hi,

News from Windows Build conference had been amazing: Touch everywhere, Metro styles and Network integration (Windows Live -cloud-) and some others…

Since you can now download the Windows 8 Developer Preview, I tried installing on VMWare Player due I don’t have a spare system. Downloaded the latest version 3.1.4

but can’t work, saying: vcpu-0:NOT_IMPLEMENTED and crashed. After some googling find out VMWare does not support (at the moment) windows 8, maybe Workstation 8.

So, I tried Virtual Box and by just using default values failed. Adjusted Processor values and worked. Below some screenshots displaying the used configuration and windows 8 running.

Be aware you may need hardware virtualization in your CPU. I have Intel i5 with hardware virtualization support on my pc.

Hope this brief guide will help you.

Screenshots (click on the images to see them larger)

wmware player

wmware player (failed)

Downloaded the latest version of VirtualBox and worked

virtualbox

virtualbox about

Configuration that worked

Virtual Box General Settings

Virtual Box General Settings

Then have to change from PIX3 chipset (default) to ICH9

VirtualBox System motherboard settings

VirtualBox System motherboard settings

Virtual Box System processor settings

Virtual Box System processor settings

Virtual Box System acceleration settings

Virtual Box System acceleration settings

Virtual Box Storage settings

Virtual Box Storage settings

Virtual Box Storage Primary IDE settings

Virtual Box Storage Primary IDE settings

Virtual Box Storage CD/DVD settings

Virtual Box Storage CD/DVD settings

Windows 8 Installing

Windows 8 Installing

Windows 8 preparing pc

Windows 8 preparing pc

Windows 8 running

Windows 8 running

Cheers,


Responses

  1. Thanks, I intend to install on Virtualbox today. Good to know.

  2. I’ve been throught all this, I’ve been able to play with the Metro UI, then I had to eat so I did turn off the VM and once I was back, oh yes it boots fast, but I have the lock screen and I tried everything to unlock it with no success. Any idea ?

    I’m really using VirtualBox and everything is up and running except I’m unable to unlock the screen. I don’t know what is the SHORTCUT key but I tried them all at least all the one I know.

    The lock screen is taking all the VirtualBox screen by the way with the time, and only one icon show some kind of connection with an red x

    • Just sliding up the lock screen should work, I’ve restarted several times and worked well. The red x is because network is not working.

  3. Were you able to get networking to work? I have wireless on my host and selected bridged and the wireless adater – no dice. Tried a variety of other options as well.

  4. Got it. Changed the adaprter in advanced to Intel Desktop.

  5. It was indeed because I was in RDP to home which then was in w8VM now I’m at home and it works

  6. I was able to install and run it. But couldn’t get the network to work. Tried everything. I have a wireless connection at home. Also, my display is not installing. It is only running in 800×600 mode. Any ideas?

  7. Cheekytaurus: What do you mean changed the adapter in advanced?

    I have my VM using bridged networking to my host ethernet adapter, but in Win 8, device manager shows an error with the ethernet controller.

    • Advanced network options are collapsed by default in VBox in the Network Adapter settings and are expanded by clicking the little blued (play like) icon.
      Once there select the Adapter Type (Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (8254OEM)) from the list and make sure also Cable Connected option is checked.


Leave a Reply

Categories

